Why shouldn't downloadable content be resellable?

northy

You buy a downloadable arcade game, additional content or film and you play it to death before probably delete it from the HDD to create some space. Exactly the same thing could apply to iTunes, Steam and will inevitably be standard for full price games and whatever other media becomes popular in the future.

Now I know that the reason for this is to maximise the profits of the companies involved and is leveraged by their proprietary systems but why are we putting up with it? When I was a student, the only way I could reasonably diverse range of games was by selling off games as I completed them and this must be the case for a large number of people.

It would be entirely possible for the company to generate a unique activation code for your game if you chose to resell it which you could email to the buyer through eBay (and then your copy would be disabled) but this situation has never even been mentioned by anyone. We're collectively allowing companies to change the entire dynamic of buying and selling our purchases and not even putting up a fight.

WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH US?!

*waits for a certain JP to post here with the benefits of DLC* :huh:

I can fully understand the reasons companies are so into this, after all why should Game make cash from used titles, when the people who created them dont make a single penny?

But it does (and will) hugely increase the cost of games to the public, and I am 100% sure the publishers/ devs wont pass a single penny of this windfall to the customers, so fuck em :unsure:

Having thought about it a bit more you could even have places like eBay automating the system by allowing you to enter the ID of the owner and the ID of the seller and a unique security code (which has to be generated from your own console to avoid theft) to expedite the transfer perhaps giving the content provider a cut of the profits on the sale so everyone wins.