Low Definition gaming

xtremeboat

Anyone else playing PS3 or Xbox 360 on a CRT TV? I'm new to this generation of consoles since Xmas so my 360's hooked up to my ancient 21" CRT TV (through RGB SCART of course). Nice screen though, looks great for gaming and streaming videos from my PC. My housemate has a gleaming LCD with his PS3 hooked into it which looks great, but when hes watching normal TV on it the picture is crap. Might have to take the plunge to HD soon

I know one forumite who played through fallout 3 on his 360...on something like a 14inch tv :P

*waves*

I got my Wii hooked up to a 32" Widescreen CRT (There was a 50" Plasma till it broke).

I got my 360 hooked up to a 14" TV/VCR combo

I got my Dreamcast hooked up to a 21" CRT

Reason is that the 360 isn't a home social console, where as the Wii typically sees 4 player game sessions so that earns right in the living room and the 360 is relegated to the office. (The DC is in the conservatory)

Anyone else playing PS3 or Xbox 360 on a CRT TV? I'm new to this generation of consoles since Xmas so my 360's hooked up to my ancient 21" CRT TV (through RGB SCART of course). Nice screen though, looks great for gaming and streaming videos from my PC. My housemate has a gleaming LCD with his PS3 hooked into it which looks great, but when hes watching normal TV on it the picture is crap. Might have to take the plunge to HD soon

360 and Wii look fine in SD.

PS3, on the other hand...

I'm playing Farcry2 and fallout on a shitty old 24-ish(?) inch tube telly.

I've only had my 360 a few days though, so I hope to move up to HD when I can borrow someones vehicle to move stuff around.

I have played Fallout on my brothers hd PS3 setup over xmas though. The difference is palpable, moreso in colour than sharpness, I'd say.

In both games the darks seem way too dark. Maybe the contrast is just fucked.