rllmuk
Mystacon

Have you ever designed a tabletop game?

A couple of months ago I decided I liked the idea of designing a tabletop game. Since then I've thrown down lots of ideas for three different games and have now settled on trying to progress one of them further.

I haven't followed any sort of defined process for this, in the first instance I tend to just write down as many cool ideas around a theme as I can (something I like the idea of playing myself), and then slowly refine them and transform them into something that could be played (for example, taking something that we do in the real world and then figuring out how to action/resolve it in gaming terms with dice/cards etc). For all I know, this could be an ill-fated way of approaching things, or maybe there's no hard and fast rule about how you should go about it? Either way, I'm having fun playing with ideas.

I'm a digital designer myself, so I do at least have the skills to create artwork and work through user experience issues, so that's a feather in my cap, I also have a friend who's successfully Kickstarted his own boardgame, so he's a really valuable resource for running ideas past.

But what I'd really like to know is, have any of you ever designed or thought about designing a tabletop game?

Please share your stories and designs, would be great to see some!

• Upvote 2

About ten years ago, one of my mates was at a small company that made novelty items. They were approached by a guy who'd designed a fishing board game and wanted them to manufacture and distribute it. He thought it would be something 'fun and educational' that anglers could use to introduce their family to fishing. So he was aiming for a huge market there.

The trouble with the game was that it was so, so dull. I'm sure it was accurate, but it was incredibly slow and was full of rolling dice then looking up the results on a variety of tables.