Jump to content
IGNORED

Nintendo Direct - 12.4.17


Nespresso
 Share

Recommended Posts

logo_ndirect.png

 

Stream | Youtube | Archive

ABOUT

Quote

Tune in on April 12 at 3:00 p.m. PT/6:00 p.m. ET for information on Nintendo Switch and Nintendo 3DS in a new Nintendo Direct presentation focused mainly on ARMS and Splatoon 2.

 

When is the Nintendo Direct?

North America: 3pm PDT / 4pm MDT / 5pm CDT / 6pm EDT - UK/Ire: 11pm BST - Europe: 12am CEST / 1am EEST - Asia/Oceania: 7am JST / 6am AWST / 8am AEST

 

What to Expect?

Quote

Nintendo has a pattern of hosting a Direct or 'info drop' in the month of April, with the slot far enough away from the all-encompassing E3 to be a useful launching point for some interesting announcements. It'll also be the first Direct since the 3rd March hardware launch of Nintendo Switch, and as a result will give the company a chance to expand upon upcoming release details.

It could be an intriguing presentation. Nintendo has simply said that ARMS and Splatoon 2 will be addressed, but there's also a broader remit of upcoming Switch and 3DS games. Beyond the welcome details on two major retail titles for Switch, then, there's scope for the big N to answer some key questions and revisit some games that are due an update.

 

As always, then, we're going to pick out five announcements and details we 'expect' to see, though in a couple of cases 'hope' may be a better term. Let's get to it.

 

Making the Case for ARMS as a Retail Title

Not much has been seen of ARMS. Sure, there were flashy videos introducing half a dozen characters and their moves, and Nintendo has been keen to promote the title as a motion-based eSports hit in the making, but the real detail has been held back so far. Within our own team opinions have been split, too, based upon brief demo time in January - this writer and one or two others are unconvinced, while a few others are believers at this early stage.

 

Ultimately, Nintendo needs to step up with its promotion of ARMS not just in terms of the concept, but with solid details. Supposedly due in 'Spring', which is this window, a firm release date seems like a given in today's broadcast. Beyond that we hope to see a clearer breakdown of any single-player offerings in the game, online modes and more besides. If Nintendo wants us to believe in waggle again, albeit relatively accurate waggle, it needs to give us the faith. ARMS is sure to get the big sell in this Direct.

 

A Pitch for What's New in Splatoon 2

Whether you agree with the sentiment or not, some have argued that Splatoon 2 'doesn't feel like a sequel'; Nintendo needs to counteract that perception. Visually the game is a relatively subtle evolution, but there's plenty of room for the sequel to freshen things up.

 

Online modes, for example, and how they work. One or two new match types would certainly be welcome to shake things up, and ideally Nintendo will also open up our choices when online - being able to pick between more stages and match types for each round would be a step in the right direction. Nintendo, to be fair, is doing interesting things for local matches - well suited to eSports events - and it may also take the opportunity to talk about the Nintendo Online Service and the lobby / voice chat app that'll likely be key to Splatoon 2's online functionality. We think the app is more likely to be a focus than the broader online service, however.

 

In addition it'd be nice to get a flavour of Splatoon 2's single player offering. The campaign in the original was pretty decent, and certainly fun, so ideally we'll get a look at the follow-up's equivalent.

more at NintendoLife

 

Might as well have a separate thread for it am I right? I'm hoping they're able to make ARMS look more enticing by showing more characters and modes as I'm not sure the Nintendo Tax™ is justified at the moment. They could at least double the roster and make Dhalsim a pre-order bonus (insta buy). 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

39 minutes ago, sir shrew said:

MK8D Switch bundle has leaked from the Russian Nintendo store.

 

I guess we'll see a £299 bundle here.

 

Having only bought my switch last week, I will be very annoyed if this is true (and no compensation is given to early adopters/people who bought MK8 the first fecking time).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue. Use of this website is subject to our Privacy Policy, Terms of Use, and Guidelines.