F-zero Gx Vs Super Monkey Ball

Teeohbee.

F-Zero GX was very well recieved by the media when it was released, getting high scores in reviews and a lot of praise. It also got some comments about its difficulty, being that it was an incredibly hard.

F-Zero GX was also a game i was eagerly awaiting, having been a fan of it since the SNES original, and it being one of my favourite nintendo franchises, When i first got my hands on F-Zero GX i was very impressed, Sega and Amusement Vision had done a very good job of giving the series a graphical sprucing, the super monkey ball engine was really put to good use in the graphics department.

It was a a real mix of styles, with certain aspects screaming nintendo and others screaming Sega. So, first impressions were good, and then i started playing...

Now i had read reviews, i didnt buy the game blindly i knew it was known to be extremely hard and i thought i was prepared for that having completed all previous F-Zero games, however it turned out i was wrong, as it seemd that reviews failed to mention that the whole game dynamic had been changed too.

Now this is where SMB comes in, to me personally i find SMB has a very set gameplay dynamic, you play the extremely hard levels to complete them and get satisfaction from this, often this seemingly requires no skill and is complete fluke. I mean completing a very tough SMB level is often near impossible to replicate, and is in no way fun to replicate. I think this aspect has been incoperated into F-Zero in its Grand Prix mode slightly but especially into story mode. I have no desire what so ever to replay any of the missions ive completed, having been through hell already to complete them (im on mission 7, on normal for anyone who's interested).